Some December Favourites

Wow, it’s been a bit long between updates! I’d meant to be a more regular blogger, but I’ve been distracted!

So for the past couple of months, I’ve come across a few things I’ve really enjoyed and I figured – why not share the love?

RatQueens01_cover

Rat Queens by Kurtis Wiebe and Roc Upchurh is a monthly comic coming out from Image. I’ve really enjoyed the first three issues! The art is some of the best currently out there, IMO. The characters are a huge amount of fun – Wiebe is proving that you can have a badass comic with a ton of action, violence and intrigue and do it all with a main female cast! Rat Queens is the kind of unabashed, stylish fun that only comics can do. If you’re near a comic shop, pick it up! And if you aren’t, consider buying it online!

91seBhhLlYL._SL1500_

The Hobbit: Extended Edition – I demanded this for my birthday (and didn’t get it! I had to spend my own money on it! The horror!). I really, really enjoyed The Hobbit when it came out in cinemas (moreso than LotR, as I find Frodo the wettest hen ever), I’ve rewatched it tons of times since it came out on DVD/Blu-Ray and I was a bit iffy about spending out for another Blu-Ray version of it… but I’m glad I did! I’m  one of those people who can’t get enough behind the scenes stuff – I love learning about the creative process behind films, especially about films with Richard Armitage, Aidan Turner and Graham McTavish! Swoon! If you’re like me and enjoy Hobbit fandom and the nitty-gritty details, then I wholeheartedly suggest getting this!

99505m_z 84130m_z

Recently I’ve popped into Body Shop, initially to grab a (sadly discontinued!) tinted lipbalm. I couldn’t get that, but I’ve ended up with some really lovely eye-shadows! The do single colour palettes (£7), baked palettes (£10) and things called shimmer cubes (£16)- 4 shimmery shades. In store, they have a great deal where you can get a shimmer palette (£16), eye-liner (£9), mascara (£10) and eye-shadow brush (£9) – for £20! Considering the price of each item individually and the quality of the product, I think this is an unbeatable deal! I’ve found that the shimmer colours don’t have a super high amount of pigmentation, but if you apply them wet, they’ll obviously come out brighter, applied dry they are still shimmery and beautiful. Over a primer, they seem to last really well! Here are my disembodied eyes after 9 or so hours:

     20131209_200747 this was obviously using the minty green palette! It’s lasted very well, IMO. It’s over a L’Oreal primer, with L’Oreal’s 24 hr tattoo shadow in gold underneath it all.

Of their eye-shadows, I’ve also nabbed 605 Sweet Pea, which is a pretty pearlescent green and 310 Berry Cheeky, which is a bright pink. Of their baked palettes, I’ve bought 07 Sapphire, which is blue and black, 04 Quartz, which is a pink and black and 06, Starlight which is a bright silver and black. You might have guessed, I really like eye-shadow! I also really like that currently Body Shop is having a 50% off sale! It ends tomorrow, but they seem to be having them a lot lately, so keep your eyes open if you’re interested!

image1xxl

Moon and Star earrings from Asos, £6. I bought these on a whim, because I really love crescent moon and star motifs, and these are so, so pretty! They’re not too big, so they’re very easy to wear and the dangling stars don’t get tangled in my hair or caught on scarves. They’re quite simple and yet they work well and add a little bit of interest to your ears. For such a small pair, I think they have a big impact and they add a touch of whimsy to any outfit. They’re also perfect stocking fillers, if you’re stuck for some jewellery ideas (plus Asos has lovely speedy shipping, so you’re still in time for ordering)!

291603841

Black Glitter Velvet 3/4 Sleeve Dress from New Look. I’m cheating a bit here, since I’ve had this since late October, but I thought I’d better throw a dress in here! This is an utterly gorgeous dress! It fits really nicely (except, the sleeves are a bit awkward and tend to roll up slightly), the fabric is nice and thick for winter, and the holographic sparklies are so pretty! If you like a gothic touch in your wardrobe, you couldn’t do worse than this dress – especially as it’s a steal at £22.99! There are so many lovely dresses out now in time for party season and I haven’t seen this one mentioned anywhere! It must have slipped under the radar, but I think this pretty, comfortable and affordable dress is something everyone should be looking at!

I have to be honest, the second I saw the glitter velvet dress, I swooned and broke my clothes-buying ban! But who can blame me? Just look at it!

916yKnJ77ML._SL1500_

Annd let’s end on Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant by Tony Cliff! I have mentioned DDatTL on this blog before, but I’ve only recently bought the paper version. Ugh, you guys. IT’S STILL AMAZING. This is one of the most fun comics I’ve ever read, Cliff’s art style is fantastic, Delilah and Selim are wonderful characters and it’s one of those awesome comics that grown-ups enjoy, but is totally suitable for younger readers (about 12+ I’d say, there’s some violence!). If you were looking for a way to introduce someone to comics, this title would be a great way to do it! I bought my copy from Amazon, for £7.69.

Have you guys got anything you’ve particularly enjoyed over the last month?

Leave a Reply

