A little life update

Yiiiikes, I know it’s been a while between updates on this blog, so I figured, what about a quick general life update?

 

  • At the end of February, my Mum and I took advantage of some cheap rail tickets and had a quick visit to London! We had a great time visiting Kew Gardens and enjoyed the orchid display there:
mum and me

Mum and me selfie!

orchid

The very best part of the trip though? My niece was born! Bless her, she had a hard time of it, but now 5 months later she’s doing so well! Little AK-Danger is the cutest baby ever! No pictures, so you’ll have to take my word for it!

 

  • In late March/early April, I left my old job as a retail monkey with a large DIY/trade supplier and began a new retail job with the National Trust. Although I had no issues with my old job, I am really happy I made this change! My new work environment is beautiful, and the team I’m a part of is very positive and supportive, which makes it a lovely place to work. Unfortunately this job is a step down in hours and pay, but this has meant I’ve got the time to volunteer in the stately home on the estate. This has also been a wonderful experience – it’s been improving my communication skills and I’ve been learning lots about the place where I work. The only fly in the ointment with all of this is the fact that the job is temporary, until late December. Still, it’s fantastic experience and I feel I suit this job much better than I did my old one.

Oh – and I get to wear skirts to work! No more uncomfortable jeans, unless I so choose 😉

yes, I like my job so much I bought a hat with the logo!

yes, I like my job so much I bought a hat with the logo!

 

  • I went to Eastercon! Eastercon is an annual SF/F convention and it’s definitely one I have a soft spot for. This year was particularly exciting, as I was on a panel! We chatted about fandom and fic and it was lots of fun. In fact, the entire con was a lot of fun this year, I think because it was in Glasgow it was a bit smaller than some of the previous ones, but I think that made for a nice, friendly atmosphere. I’m really looking forward to next year’s Eastercon – Dysprosium, which will be held in London.
part of one of the crafty panels, where I made a bitchin flower!

part of one of the crafty panels at Eastercon, where I made a bitchin flower!

 

  • I recently finished my modules on the Open University for this academic year! I didn’t enjoy either module as much as I’d hoped, and I worry that that has affected my scores. For one module I gained a Level 3 pass, which is equivalent to a 2:2, if I understand correctly. For the other module I’ve yet to get my result, but my fingers are crossed for a Level 2 pass! I’ve also signed up for two Level 3 modules, which will begin in October – Shakespeare: Text and Performance  and also Myth in the Classical World. It’s going to be a lot of work (equivalent to your final year at Uni, I think), but I’m hoping that I shall be able to cope. Part of the reason I was so happy to get my new job is that I felt the hours would be more conducive to studying. And who knows, if all goes well, this time next year I shall have a degree! Live in hope, eh?

 

As well as those fairly big events, I’ve had tons of days out here and there and I’ve been busily acquainting myself with a new fandom – ice hockey! Still trying to figure out an NHL team to support, I started with Toronto, but I’m now favouring Montreal and Columbus… I’ll see how they shape up next season, I guess.

 

Oh, I’m going to do a bigger post about this soon, but I’m also going to Nine Worlds and Worldcon next month, and I’ll be on panels in both! That’s very exciting for me, although I’m still pretty nervous! I’m sure it’ll go ok though, right?

 

I think that’s enough selfies/rambling, so I’ll leave it here. What have you been up to? Any new or exciting changes in your life?

Leave a Reply

